Peace of mind

by Hillary



It was a rainy day in New York City. Cool morning. Rain. Then the onset of humid heat that thickens into cream of pollution soup. Those unprepared had to brave the elements without umbrella. In other words, me. I took the 6 line uptown for a change of scenery on my day off.

First, I went to the Whitney Museum of American Art and discovered a new inspiration. Charles Burchfield painted in the early 20th century, through the Great Depression and World Wars I and II. It was interesting to see his work go from dreamlike and innocent, to dark and stormy, and then toward the end of his career, sunny and tranquil.

Then I took a walk through Central Park. I wasn’t sure where I was going. I wasn’t lost, but I was uncertain of my destination. As a result, I found myself climbing up hills, scratching my head at forks in the road, and following twisting paths leading to dreamlike scenes. On days like today, the surrealist minds come out to swim in the fantasy. The more I explored, the more tender moments appeared before me.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.


